Simple Herbed Chicken Breasts


So I was sitting on my couch exhausted this afternoon, chicken breasts in the kitchen thawing, with absolutely no clue what I was going to do with them.  It was “Clean the Kids’ Rooms” day and I was feeling more than  a little wiped out.  I had every intention of doing my usual parmesan chicken nuggets (which I’m only getting a little sick of) when I happened upon the show Cook Yourself Thin.  Now, this is not their recipe.  To be fair, I didn’t really pay attention to what they were doing, I just saw that they were doing an herbed chicken and it sounded good.

I took three chicken breasts (the kids usually share one) and set them aside.  In a large dish I added olive oil, lemon juice, sage, thyme, rosemary, garlic, salt and pepper.  I mixed that together well, and dredged the chicken breasts in it.  When the breasts were nice and covered, I let them sit for a while, just to let everything soak in just a touch.

While I waited for the chicken to get cozy with all the ingredients, I went ahead and turned the oven on to 400 degrees.  I also sliced up some potatoes.  I’m not sure I’m even capable of making a meal that doesn’t include those delicious red potatoes anymore.  I might have a few issues.  I tossed the potatoes around with some olive oil, salt, pepper, and rosemary.  That’s really all there is to them.  Every thing is to taste.  If you don’t have (or like) rosemary you can easily add basil, or oregano, or thyme, or ROSEMARY, because rosemary is really really good.  Did I mention that I have issues?

I popped everything into the oven, checking the potatoes after about 15 minutes, giving them a good stir (so they don’t stick).  The potatoes take about thirty minutes total.

The Husband devoured it, because that’s what he does.  The four year old ate one bite and declared that he didn’t like it.  Apparently it couldn’t even be saved by ketchup.  He ate the potatoes, but only after scraping the rosemary off of them. The toddler devoured the potatoes, ate two bites of chicken, drank a large glass of milk, and asked for crackers.  That’s my girl.

I thought it was wonderful.

Simple Herbed Chicken Breasts

3 – 4 Chicken Breasts

3 TBSP Olive Oil

1 TBSP Lemon juice

1/4 tsp sage

1/4 tsp thyme

1 tsp rosemary

2 cloves garlic pressed (or chopped)

salt and pepper to taste

In a large dish, combine olive oil, juice, garlic, and seasonings.  Dredge chicken breasts in mixture. When the breasts are fully covered, let them sit in the oil for 10 to 20 minutes.  Turn the oven on to 400 degrees.  Set the chicken on cooking pan and bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until juices run clear.

About Angela

I'm a wife, a mother, a dancer, a singer, and a non-union wench. I have a tendency to state my opinion. View all posts by Angela

One response to “Simple Herbed Chicken Breasts

  • Jess

    I’ll have to try this one! thank you! You know what else I like on the red potatoes? dill. And I’m not normally a dill fan but Liss and I do a salmon with it that is awesome too..I’ll have to put it up.

Leave a Reply

