Warm Pudding


I was in a bad mood yesterday.  I wanted chocolate, and thought that I wanted to bake, but decided against it for laziness reasons.  So, for kicks, I pulled out my pudding recipe and added cocoa to it.

First, the basic vanilla version…

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups milk, divided

Pinch salt

1/2 cup sugar

3 tablespoons cornstarch

2 egg yolks

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon butter or margarine

Directions

Place 2 cups milk and salt in a saucepan. Sprinkle sugar on milk.  Let them sit for a minute without stirring for at least a few minutes; heat over medium-high. Quickly combine cornstarch with remaining milk; add egg yolks and mix well. When milk comes to a full boil, remove saucepan from the heat and stir in cornstarch mixture (I always temper the egg/cornstarch mixture first).  Return to the heat and cook for 1-2 minutes. Remove from the heat; stir in vanilla and butter. Pour into individual dishes. Serve warm.

Now I took this recipe and added 1/2 cup of cocoa powder to the egg mixture.  It was tasty, but extremely rich.  I would recommend starting with 1/4 cup of cocoa for a less intense flavor.

Also note, this recipe is meant to be served warm.  If you chill  it before eating, it will start to get a bit gloopy.  It still tastes wonderful, it’s just not as smooth and pretty as it is when it’s warm.

I would have taken a picture, but I devoured all of it before I thought about it.



About Angela

I'm a wife, a mother, a dancer, a singer, and a non-union wench. I have a tendency to state my opinion. View all posts by Angela

Leave a Reply

